I ended up taking a couple month break at the beginning of March.  I have been cooking as normal, but I’ve not taken much in the way of pictures.  This post, however, is a catch-up of sorts.

First, I’d like to discuss the recipes I plan on making in the next month or two.

The first, is bokumbop.

Image courtesy of Trifood.com  

Many moons ago, Mat and I regularly made trips to Ogawa Sushi Restaurant on University Ave in Morgantown.  Alongside sushi, they also served some Korean food.  The bokumbop was particularly tasty.  I stumbled on a recipe for it, and decided that I would like to try my hand at it, so wee if I can make it for a fraction of what it would cost to buy it at Ogawa (who neither Mat nor I patronize anymore, due to a shift in management and an overhaul of the menu).

Another dish I’d like to make is Banana “Soft-serve” Ice Cream.

Image courtesy of Glamour.com

Now, this sounds tasty as a summer treat.  Even better for someone who has trouble with milk and lactose, such as myself.  Toss in some semi-sweet chocolate chips, and it’s dessert!  Even better, it’s good for you.  Bonuses all around.

Laster, but not least, I want to make…macarons.

Image courtesy of VintageMint.com 

Macarons are the be-all-end-all of food challenges.  if you don’t believe me, look at the food blogs across the internet.  Take five minutes and look at FoodGawker.  Macarons are fickle and challenging.  They can flop, depending on a variety of factors.  Bloggers excitedly tell of the moment they saw their macaron shells getting their “feet.”  Making them is an event that requires much skill and patience.  If you can successfully make macarons, you can make anything.

Hence why I want to make them.  I’m thinking more of a savory, sweet macaron.  Maybe chocolate coffee shell with vanilla filling.  That sounds tasty to me.   I’ve never made them, nor eaten them before, but damn do I want to try my hand at them.

However, recently I did take a few photos of some tasties I made.  I re-shot my Spanish Rice  and I must say it came out much better.  My skills with a camera are improving.

Spanish Rice

Spanish Rice

Then one day I made myself a little oatmeal with some strawberries and bananas.  It was a very vibrant dish, to be sure, so I decided to snap a few shots of it, too!

Strawberry

Strawberry banana oatmeal

Strawberry Banana Oatmeal

Strawberry

Strawberry Banana Oatmeal

So lovely!

I also had a chance to toy with a dSLR, specifically a Nikon D5000.  I picked it up, toyed with the lens for a moment, turned around, and shot a few pictures.  I was more than impressed.  I nearly ruined the camera from drooling all over it.  I’ve decided I want this camera some day, or something like it.  Either the D5000, or a Canon Rebel.  We shall see!

Anyway, that’s my update.  Hopefully I’ll be back to shooting lots of tasties soon!

