Grilled Chicken

Today was the first really nice day of the season.  It was 66°F here, in the middle of February.  Unheard of, for sure, but I certainly wasn’t complaining.  I threw on my favorite flowy skirt, a pastel beater (since this is spring weather and all), and my comfy flats and proceeded to clean, cook, and take pictures.

I also decided to GRILL.  My grill is my best friend.  My grill and I have logged many an hour making piles of tasty food.  I simply couldn’t neglect my faithful grill on this uncharacteristically warm day.  So, I decided to grill chicken.

But the big question when grilling chicken is HOW you want to grill it.  Chicken breast can be kind of bland if grilled alone, so I decided to marinate it.  But marinate it in what?  The marinade I have isn’t that great, so I decided to make my own.  Yet I’ve never made a marinade before.  I decided to just start throwing things in a bag and see how it came out.  Some of the best recipes happen that way.  So I grabbed some stuff from my fridge, pantry, and spice rack, marinated the chicken in it, then grilled it up.

It was divine.  Read on!

This is what you’ll need.

1/3 cup canola oil

1/3 cup soy sauce (I used low sodium soy sauce)

1/2 tsp ground mustard

1/2 tsp cracked black pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tbsp A1 steak sauce

4 chicken breasts, thawed and trimmed of excess fat

Combine all ingredients except for the chicken in either a shallow dish or a Ziploc bag.  (I used the latter.)  Mix thoroughly, and add your chicken.  Coat the chicken and let it marinate for twenty minutes to half an hour.  In the mean time, fire up your grill.  I have a propane grill, so I set it to medium-low heat.  You need to pre-heat the grate so your chicken doesn’t stick.  When your grill is heated up, put your chicken on.  Cook until the juices run clear and the edges of your chicken are slightly blackened.  The marinade should cook right into the surface of your chicken.  When your chicken is finished, remove from the grill.

You’ll get this gorgeous sight as a result of your hard work:

Grilled Chicken

Serve your delicious creation with chopped scallions on top.  Serve it with a starch (noodles, potatoes, rice) and a vegetable, preferably something vibrant and colorful to jazz up your plate.

It’s so beautiful.

Grilled Chicken

I served it to Mat, who I took a quick (not-so-)candid picture of.  I love the eye he’s giving the camera, like “OMG why are you pointing that things at me?”

Mattum

Even better was the picture of a nearly-empty plate, which is like a love poem to cooks everywhere.

Happiness is an empty plate

And then the happy, full recipient of your hard work and tasty cooking.

Happy Mattum

I made him smile for this picture.  He looks so enthused.

 

Anyway, that is my grilled chicken recipe.  Enjoy!

