As I’ve gotten older, my Christmas “do-want” list has gotten shorter and, without a doubt, more practical.  Stuff for my apartment, clothes, money.  Gadgets now and then.  This year, I got some really fantastic gifts (Penguins hockey tickets!!  Lower level seats for a Toronto game at the new Consol Energy Center!  Have I told you thank you yet, Ray?  I love you!  :P) but since this is my food blog, I’m going to narrow that down to things that would actually pertain to this blog.

The first was from Mat.  I practically rolled over and begged for a Canon Powershot SX 210 IS.  I even mentioned it in here in my blog.  I did extensive research for an affordable camera that gives me some control over shutter speed, aperture value, and focus, but was still something I could slip into my purse.  I settled on the Canon, in black, and told him it would count for my birthday gift too, if he got it for me.  When he asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I simply replied “My camera” and nothing else.  When he asked what else I wanted, I said “my camera” and I’m sure he got annoyed with me more than once.  I then bookmarked the camera on Amazon and put the bookmark in his folder on the computer.  Hey, I know what I want.  Lo and behold, on Christmas Eve, he handed me a small, wrapped box, and inside was my new baby.  🙂  He swiftly got annoyed with me as I took pictures of everything in the room, as I was playing with settings.

My baby:

 

The other foodie-related gift came from my father.  I had complained to him about the abuse I was putting my poor hand mixer through, especially after making two cheesecakes for Ray (the second of which burnt out the motor of my poor mixer, and while it works, it’s on death’s door, for sure) and mused out loud (perhaps purposefully) that I’d really love to have a KitchenAid stand mixer.  To ensure my not-so-subtle hint would not go unnoticed, I pulled up the mixer on Target.com and pointed to it.  “I would love to have one of these” I told my Daddy.  Please and thank you.

When I walked into my Dad’s house on Christmas Eve, I spied a rather large box, wrapped in pretty, festive paper, that was pretty much the size of a KitchenAid stand mixer.  Could it be?  Was this the mixer of my dreams, tucked underneath the Christmas tree?  On Christmas day, I tore off the pretty, festive paper in a frenzy, and indeed!  Indeed it was my new stand mixer, a KitchenAid Classic in pearly white!  Exactly what I had been wanting, and needing, for quite some time now.  I can’t wait to use it.  🙂

My new gadget:

 

Between my new camera and my new stand mixer, this blog should be jumpin’.  🙂  Winter foods and desserts will be coming right up!

