Fall is here.

In my opinion, Fall is the best time of year for foodies.  It’s when you bust out the good stuff.  When the rich sauces, gravies, confectioneries, crock pot meals, and baking is not only okay to eat (now that it’s not hot) but it’s practically demanded.  When it gets cold, I put in my order at the local grocery for a pallet of butter, of flour, of sugar, and eggs because I am going to be doing a lot of baking.

Oddly enough, I’m not a sweets kind of person, but my grandmother taught me the art of baking when I was a girl.  I enjoy it immensely.  I just give it away when I’m done.  (I apologize to all my friends for the ten pounds they will undoubtedly gain this season.)

One of Mat’s favorite cookies was one I discovered long ago.  I had a can of pumpkin and no idea what to do with it.  A friend recommended a recipe for me, and I whipped it up.

Behold: cakey, pumpkin-ie goodness.

I mention these cookies, and Mat all but throws me into the car to take me to the grocery store so I can pick up the stuff to make them.  It contains an unholy amount of shortening, but that’s what gives these tasty morsels their fluffy, cake-y awesomeness.  They are awesome to make for Fall parties and get-togethers.  Be prepared for the stampede of people demanding to know the recipe.  Bring coffee to dip these babies in.  These cookies with a cup of warm coffee is a match made in heaven.

You can find the recipe here, over at AllRecipes.com.  Don’t change a thing.  As a Supporting Member of AllRecipes, I have access to “custom recipes” of individual recipes of the site.  You know how some people comment about things they did differently about recipes?  That’s what custom recipes are, neatly organized for your viewing pleasure.  The kicker?  This cookie recipe has no custom recipes attached.  That’s perfect how it is.  I would, however, recommend you use Crisco/pure veggie shortening instead of vegetable/animal blend shortening.  It makes the difference.

I drizzle my icing over top of my cookies with a spoon.  This can get sooooo messy, so I recommend you put your cooking on a baking rack and put paper towels or wax paper underneath to catch the drippings.  Some people suggest dipping the cooking into the frosting, but that’s difficult to do without accidentally dipping your fingers in too, so I just use a spoon.  Comes out fantastic.

Enjoy!

