One of THE best websites for cooks who are looking to eat healthy is Eating Well.  The site,  for the magazine of the same name, is chock full of tasty, healthy recipes that you can find by ingredient, ethnicity, time needed to cook, and even by budget. Mingling with the recipes are articles about your food, your diet, exercise, and overall healthy living.  Eating Well also has plenty of sections for those who are looking to eat not only healthy, but more frugal.  Those points, among other things, makes Eating Well one of my favorite websites for lean recipes.  They’ve not let me down yet.

While browsing, a recipe caught my eye.  It was Spring Chicken and Barley Soup.  I love soup, but I always hate having to give them up, for the most part, in the summer time due to how weighty they can be.  This looked nice and refreshing, so I vowed to give it a shot.

And I’m glad I did.

This soup is amazing.  It’ perfect for Spring, with asparagus being in season.  It’s full of veggies, such as onion, asparagus, peas, tomatoes, and celery.  The fluffy barley give it a nice chewy texture.  The basil and freshly chopped garlic added at the very end finish the soup off with a nice zip.  This soup is highly recommended for a light, refreshing soup for the warmer months that will still fill you up nicely!  On top of that, I imagine the soup could be made veg*n by omitting the chicken and substituting veggie broth for the chicken broth!

Enjoy.  🙂

